Screenshots resolution

Information from and to the site administrators.

Moderator: Alastair

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1683
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Screenshots resolution

#1 Post by Gunness » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:41 am

When screenshots are added to the archive, we try to keep them at their native resolution.

In order to handle the processing as quick as possible, if you want to upload a screenshot, please consider using the resolutions below (all are without borders) :)
  • Amiga: 640x400
  • Amstrad CPC: 320x200 / 640x400
  • Amstrad PCW: 720x512
  • Apple II: 280x192 / 560x384 (late Infocom games)
  • Archimedes: 640x200 / 640x256
  • Atari 400/800 series: 320x192
  • Atari ST: 640x400
  • BBC: 320x256
  • C64: 320x200
  • Coleco Adam: 256x192
  • Dragon: 256x192
  • MSX: 256 x 192
  • MSX2: Various heights, up to 512x (more info)
  • NewBrain: 640x460 [guess, based on emulator screencaps, doesn't scale well]
  • Oric: 240x200
  • SAM Coupé: 256x192 except mode 3 (4 colour) at 512x384
  • Spectrum: 256x192
  • Thomson MO5: 320x200
  • TI-99/4A: 256 x 192
  • TRS-80: 384x192 (emulator might save it as 512x384)
  • TRS-80 CoCo: 256x192
  • VIC20: 352x184

Starscream
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:52 pm

Re: Screenshots resolution

#2 Post by Starscream » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:26 pm

A few remarks:
Resolutions such as 640x200 will usually end up as a 640x400, since otherwise the aspect ratio will be wildly distorted.
This also applies to some extent to the 384x192 of the TRS-80. The emulator I use scales it to 512x384 for example.
Some Apple II games need to be captured in 560x384 (later Infocom releases).

Ti-99/4a resolution is 256x192 (same as MSX) without the borders.

User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1683
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Screenshots resolution

#3 Post by Gunness » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:54 pm

Excellent notes. I can't recall any CPC releases at the higher rez, but I guess some of the Infocom titles might use it.
Thanks for the comment on the TRS-80 - I never could figure out what resolution to use. I will update the list accordingly.

Starscream
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:52 pm

Re: Screenshots resolution

#4 Post by Starscream » Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:26 pm

Gunness wrote:Excellent notes. I can't recall any CPC releases at the higher rez, but I guess some of the Infocom titles might use it.
Infocom+Magnetic Scrolls and I think Mindshadow.

dave
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:20 pm

Re: Screenshots resolution

#5 Post by dave » Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:15 am

Some GAC games (e.g. Zed) use the higher res of the CPC. I know of none that use the higher res modes of the BBC though (you only had 32K of memory and the smallest high res screen use 16K for screen memory).

User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1683
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Screenshots resolution

#6 Post by Gunness » Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:05 pm

dave wrote:I know of none that use the higher res modes of the BBC though (you only had 32K of memory and the smallest high res screen use 16K for screen memory).
That's plenty of space for two "escape from a locked room"-games in one load :D

Alastair
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:21 am

Re: Screenshots resolution

#7 Post by Alastair » Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:22 pm

The MSX2 adds a few more screen resolutions to those available on the original MSX.

This MSX wiki gives the details, of particular note is that the width can be up to 512 pixels and the height can be up to 212.

dave
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:20 pm

Re: Screenshots resolution

#8 Post by dave » Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:51 pm

The Archimedes resolutions are wrong above. Like the BBC the humble arc has multiple screen modes, including those of the original BBC micro (640x256, 320x256, 160x256) and expanding all the way up to SVGA (800x600) and some weird ones like (1056x256)

Post Reply